The University of Zimbabwe (UZ) is a public university located in Harare, Zimbabwe. It was established in 1952 as the University College of Rhodesia and Nyasaland, and initially had an affiliation with the University of London. Subsequently, it was renamed the University of Rhodesia and eventually assumed its current name following Zimbabwe's independence in 1980. UZ stands as the oldest and highest-ranked university in Zimbabwe.

The university comprises eleven faculties, including Agriculture, Environment, and Food Systems; Arts and Humanities; Business Management Sciences and Economics; Computer Engineering Informatics and Communications; Education; Engineering and Built Environment; Law; Science; Social and Behavioral Sciences; Veterinary Sciences; and Medicine and Health Sciences. These faculties offer a diverse range of degree programs and host numerous specialized research centers and institutes. UZ holds accreditation from the National Council for Higher Education, which operates under the Ministry of Higher and Tertiary Education. The medium of instruction at UZ is English.



Harare, Zimbabwe